Night Music: Hank Mobley – “Peckin’ Time” (1958)

This is the title track of an album by saxophonist Hank Mobley and trumpeter Lee Morgan. It’s on the Blue Note label and was recored on February 9, 1958. Musicians features are Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan (trumpet); Wynton Kelly (piano); Paul Chambers (bass); and Charlie Persip (drums).

Track listing (all tunes by Mobley unless indicated)

  1. “High and Flighty” 
  2. Speak Low” (Nash, Weill
  3. “Peckin’ Time” 
  4. “Stretchin’ Out” 
  5. “Git-Go Blues” 

The review by Steve Leggett at AllMusic says this:

It all adds up to a fine program, and if Mobley didn’t push the envelope a whole lot, his lyrical and economical playing was always appropriate and graceful, and that’s certainly the case here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.